Vilma to get Urian lifetime achievement nod


Vilmanians, rejoice!

Your idol, actress and politician Vilma Santos will finally get her Natatanging Urian Lifetime Achieverment Award at the upcoming annual Gaward Urian ceremonies happening on July 20.

It should be noted her “rival”, Nora Aunor, received this same award two years ago.

On why the Star for All Seasons will be receiving it only now, one of the Urian’s members, Dr. Nicanor Tiongson, reasoned in a recent news conference that this award is not only given to actors but anyone who has contributed to the Filipino film industry.

Anyway, it’s only fitting that Vilma will be giving this award. Vilma is a talented actress and has given a lot to the business. She also has the most Urian best-actress trophies, by the way.  But her most controversial award was back in the early 1980s when she famously—or infamously, depending on which side you’re on—beat Nora Aunor in Himala for her turn in Relasyon.

We, of course, know which role and film stood the test of time…. (Even then, there was no doubt which performance would age incredibly well.—Ed.)

But that was then and I’m very sure the Urian members then had their valid reasons choosing Vilma over Nora.  The Urian has always been a credible award-giving body, and that’s why they have lasted all these years.

Now on its 40th year, the Gawad Urian will be aired live on Cinema One from ABS-CBN’s Studio 10.

Leading this year’s list is the film Women of the Weeping River, produced by Southern Lantern Studios, Haut Lesmains and TBA, with 12 nominations, including Best Picture and Best Direction for Sheron Dayoc. Paglipay, produced by Milagros Ong How, follows with 11 nominations, Ma’ Rosa, from Centerstage Productions and Solar Pictures; Pamilya Ordinaryo, produced by Found Films, Quantum Films and the Cinemalaya Foundation; and Ang Babaeng Humayo, produced by Cinema One Originals and Sine Olivia Pilipinas, all have nine nominations.

Aside from Women of the Weeping River, the nominees for Best Film include Ang Babaeng Humayo, Paglipay, Ma’ Rosa, Pamilya Ordinaryo and Baboy Halas from Origane Films, Timewrap, Oya Film Productions, Alchemy of Vision, Lights Productions and Three Six-Zero Industries.

The nominees for Best Actress are Charo Santos (Ang Babaeng Humayo), Laila Ulao (Women of the Weeping River), Jaclyn Jose (Ma’ Rosa), Cherry Pie Picache (Pauwi Na), Ai-Ai de las Alas (Area), Elizabeth Oropesa (MRS), Irma Adlawan (Oro), Hasmine Kilip (Pamilya Ordinaryo), Angeli Bayani (Ned’s Project) and Nora Aunor (Hinulid).

Khalil Ramos (2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten), Tommy Abuel (Dagsin), Bembol Roco (Pauwi Na), Garry Cabalic (Paglipay), Paolo Ballesteros (Die Beautiful), Ronwaldo Martin (Pamilya Ordinaryo) and Pepe Smith (Singing in Graveyards) are the Best Actor nominees.

Aside from Dayoc, nominated for Best Director are Lav Diaz (Ang Babaeng Humayo), Brillante Mendoza (Ma’ Rosa), Eduardo Roy Jr. (Pamilya Ordinaryo), Zig Madamba Dulay (Paglipay), Bagane Fiola (Baboy Halas), Paolo Villaluna (Pauwi Na), Avid Liongoren (Saving Sally) and Lemuel Lorca (Ned’s Project).

For Best Supporting Actor, the nominees include John Lloyd Cruz (Ang Babaeng Humayo), Nonie Buencamino (Ang Babaeng Humayo), Taha Daranda (Women of the Weeping River), Christian Bables (Die Beautiful), Jess Mendoza (Hinulid), and Julio Diaz (Ma’ Rosa). Nominated for Best Supporting Actress are Rhed Bustamante (Seklusyon), Barbie Forteza (Tuos), Sharifa Pearlsia Ali-Dans (Women of the Weeping River), Anna Luna (Paglipay), Joan de la Cruz (Pagligay), Lui Manansala (Ned’s Project), Lotlot de Leon (MRS), Janine Gutierrez (Dagsin), Ma. Zimadar Caranay-Raper (Women of the Weeping River) and Meryll Soriano (Pauwi Na).

The other categories in this annual film celebration include Best Screenplay, Best Production Design, Best Editing, Best Cinematography, Best Music, Best Sound, Best Short Film and Best Documentary.

The nominees and winners are chosen by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP), composed of reputable pillars in Philippine cinema, led by its chairman Tito Genova Valiente (also BusinessMirror’s resident film critic and columnist), Rolando Tolentino, together with members Grace Javier Alfonso, Butch Francisco, Mario Hernando, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Rapatan, Benilda  Santos, Dr. Nicanor Tiongson and Lito Zulueta.

To see full list of nominees, visit or the official web site of the MPP ( For other updates, visit Cinema One’s official Facebook page (

All Credit Goes There : Source link