Saints, Heroes battle in NCAA all-star basketball game


Lyceum of the Philippines University and San Beda College will once again stand on opposite sides of the court — this time in the NCAA all-star game.

Team Heroes led by Lyceum and Team Saints spearheaded by San Beda will collide in the midseason classic at Filoil Flying V Centre Friday.

Telecast begins at 1 p.m. with the Skills Challenge, Shooting Stars, 3-Point Shootout, and the Slam Dunk Contest preceding the clash between the Heroes and the Saints.

The league-leading Pirates will stand at the forefront of Team Heroes, which includes Arellano University, Emilio Aguinaldo College, Jose Rizal University, and Mapua University.

Top-billing Lyceum will be CJ Perez, team captain MJ Ayaay, and post presence Mike Nzeusseu.

Flanking them will be Allen Enriquez, Lervin Flores, and Kent Salado of the Chiefs; Jerome Garcia, Francis Munsayac, and Sidney Onwubere of the Generals; Ervin Grospe, Jed Mendoza, and Teytey Teodoro of the Heavy Bombers; and Christian Bunag, JB Raflores and Laurenz Victoria of the Cardinals.

Team Heroes will be coached by Lyceum’s Topex Robinson.

Team Saints will be led into battle by defending champion and second-running San Beda together with College of Saint Benilde, Colegio de San Juan de Letran, University of Perpetual Help, and San Sebastian College-Recoletos.

“King Lion” Robert Bolick, do-it-all Javee Mocon, and scoring dynamo Davon Potts will banner the Red Lions.

The Blazers’ Edward Dixon, JJ Domingo, and Gerard Castor; the Knights’ JP Calvo, Rey Nambatac, and Bong Quinto; the Altas’ Gab Dagangon, Prince Eze, and GJ Ylagan; and the Golden Stags’ Alvin Baetiong, Kevin Baytan, and Ian Valdez will provide backup for them.

San Beda’s Boyet Fernandez will be mentoring Team Saints.

This will be the first time in the event’s four-year history that the teams will be divided into Heroes and Saints.

In previous editions, the teams were based on geography with the West All-Stars made up of Intramuros-based squads Letran, Lyceum and Mapua together with schools along Taft Avenue in Saint Benilde and EAC. The East All-Stars were composed of Arellano, JRU, Perpetual, San Beda, and San Sebastian.

The NCAA 93 All-Star will still be LIVE on S+A, S+A HD, and

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.

All Credit Goes There : Source link