Medical physicist crowned Ms. Philippines Earth 2017 » Manila Bulletin News



By Robert Requintina

A medical physicist from Manila who is pushing for energy conservation was crowned Miss Philippines Earth 2017  at the SM Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City Saturday night.

Newly crowned Miss Philippines Earth Karen Ibasco. (photo credits: Official Miss Earth Philippines) Manila Bulletin

Karen Ibasco, 26, bested 39 other contestants in the environment-driven beauty pageant.

She will represent the Philippines at the Miss Earth international pageant in November this year.

An early favorite in the prejudging competitions, Ibasco continued to impress the judges during the final question and answer segment of the contest.

During the final round, the Top 5 semifinalists were asked a common question: “The government slogan is change is coming. What change do you wanna see in terms of environmental policies in the country.”

“In terms of environmental policies, everyone [is] experiencing climate change. The whole world is experiencing climate change. I’m just grateful that the Philippines has signed the Paris Treaty. What I want to see is to pass a carbon tax. In that way, we would invest in renewable energy to help our world to be a better place, greener, inhabitable for the whole country,” Ibasco replied.

At present, Ibasco works as a medical physicist at St. Luke’s Hospital. She also taught at the University of Santo Tomas in Manila where she graduated.

Medical physicists use a variety of analytical, computer-aided and bio-engineering techniques in their work such as radiotherapy, x-ray imaging, ultrasound, tomography, radiology, nuclear magnetic resonance imaging and lasers.

This year’s elemental winners were Jessica Marasigan, Caloocan City, Miss Philippines Earth-Fire; Vanessa Mae Castillo, Lobo, Batangas, Miss Philippines Earth-Eco-Tourism; Kim de Guzman, Olongapo City, Miss Philippines Earth-Air; and Neliza Bautista, of Villanueva, Misamis Oriental, Miss Philippines Earth-Fire.

Other candidates in the Top 10 were: Angeles City – Korin Frances Dizon; Lipa City – Rianne Charlotte Kalaw; New Zealand – Jessica Rose McEwen; Panglao, Bohol – Catherine Tabaniag; and Porac, Pampanga – Anne Krishia Antonio.

Tags: , , , , , ,

All Credit Goes There : Source link