Idols take center stage at ‘K-pop Republic 2’ » Manila Bulletin Entertainment


Four Korean idol groups dazzled fans at the “K-pop Republic 2” concert held recently at the Circuit Event Grounds in Makati.

  • G-Friend (Photos by Jonathan Hicap)

  • Cosmic Girl

    Cosmic Girl

  • NCT 127

    NCT 127

  • N.Flying


NCT 127, G-Friend, Cosmic Girls and N.Flying performed before Filipino fans, and interacted and took photos with them.

This was the second “K-pop Republic” concert in the country after September 2013 that featured K-pop artists EXO-K, SHINee and Dal Shabet.

Except for G-Friend, the three other groups were first-timers in the Philippines.

“It’s our first time here in Manila. We feel very blessed and overwhelmed with all the fans cheering for us. We thank fans for coming,” said NCT 127, an SM Entertainment idol group composed of Taeil, Taeyong, Johnny, Yuta, Jaehyun, WinWin, Mark, Haechan and Doyoung at a press conference before the concert.

NCT 127, which won the rookie award at the Gaon Chart Music Awards, Mnet Asian Music Awards, Golden Disc Awards and Seoul Music Awards, are thankful to fans for their support.

“Please look forward to our performances and we love you guys. As always, we will do our best to show our fans what we have prepared. We will try our best to interact with our fans. As much as it is our first time being here in the Philippines, we’re very excited to perform,” they added at the time of interview.

At the concert, NCT 127 performed “Cherry Bomb,” “0 Mile,” “Limitless,” “Fire Truck,” and “Summer 127.”

G-Friend, composed of Sowon, Yerin, Eunha, Yuju, SinB, and Umji, opened the concert with “Navillera,” the title track of their debut studio album “LOL” released in 2016. They also performed “Rough,” “Love Whisper,” “Summer Rain” and “Me Gustas Tu.”

“We’re so happy to come back to the Philippines,” the girl group said before the concert.

Asked to describe their Filipino fans, member Sowon said they’re like “mango since it always makes us sweet and happy so that’s how Filipino buddies are to us.”

For Yerin, its “passion because whenever I come back to the Philippines, Filipino buddies always welcome us with passion. We always enjoy when we come here to the Philippines.”

“Lovely because their expression is always lovely when they welcome us here,” said SinB while Umji described them as “amazing.” For Yuju, it’s “energy because the moment we arrive at the airport and go back (to Korea), fans give us energy.”

Umji added “This is our third visit to the Philippines and we are always honored to perform before Filipino fans. Please enjoy and let’s have a nice memory together.”

Cosmic Girls also known as Woo-Ju-Seo-Nyeo (WJSN) is a K-Pop group composed of Korean and Chinese members. The group is managed by Starship Entertaiment who gave us big K-pop acts as Sistar and Monsta X, and Yue Hua Entertainment. The group is popularly known for their singles such as “Mo Mo Mo,” “Catch Me,” “Secret,” “I Wish” and their latest single “Happy.”

Cosmic Girls, which debuted last year, is composed of 13 members: Dawon, Bona, Soobin, Xuan Yi, Seola, Luda, Eunseo, Cheng Xiao, Yeoreum, Mei Qi, Yeonjung, Exy and Dayoung. They sang “Happy,” “I Wish,” “Mo Mo Mo” and “Secret” at the concert.

About the concert, the girls said, “We’re very glad to be here for this meaningful event. We’re happy that Filipino fans were very welcoming.”

They released their first studio album titled “Happy Moment” last June.

“As for our latest single ‘Happy,’ we released it so other people can also get our ‘happy virus.’ We wanted to share that vibe. In addition, it was our very first full album so we put so much effort into it. And we will be glad if more people listen to it and give us love and support,” they said.

The girls added, “It’s our first time here in the Philippines and we really want to see the Filipino fans. We’re glad to be here.”

Rap-rock band N.Flying, composed of Kwon Kwang-jin, Lee Seung-hyub, Cha Hun, Kim Jae-hyun, made their comeback last August with a new album titled “The Real: N.Flying” and a new member, Yoo Hwe-seung, a former contestant on the survival audition TV show “Produce 101” Season 2.

At the concert, they performed songs such as “Lonely,” “I’m Okay” and “The Real.”

They said they’re glad to visit the Philippines for the first time.

“It is our first time here in the Philippines and we heard that there a lot of N.Fias (collective name of the group’s fans) and we’re really happy to meet them on this event,” said Seung-hyub.

The boys hope to return to the country and meet more fans.

“We already knew that people were waiting for us to come here and they are expecting a lot from us. We hope that we can come here again so we can have more fun with you,” N.Flying said.

“K-pop Republic 2” was presented by HM Entertainment and All Access Production.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

All Credit Goes There : Source link