FilOil: Adamson crushes undermanned Flying V


MANILA, Philippines – The Adamson University Soaring Falcons showed no mercy as they dominated the undermanned Flying V Thunder, 94-67, in a tune-up game in the FilOil Flying V Preseason Tournament on Wednesday afternoon.

Despite not having big men Papi Sarr and Tyrus Hill as well as head coach Franz Pumaren, the Falcons still had little trouble against the Thunder.

Simon Camacho tallied a double-double of 16 points and 11 rebounds, while Jerrick Ahanmisi scored 14 points, making four of his seven triples. All but two players fielded in by Adamson tallied a point in the rout.

“Ang instructions ni Coach Franz yesterday was to give a chance doon sa hindi masyadong nabibigyan ng playing time,” said assistant coach Jack Santiago, who called the shots in Pumaren’s place. “Okay naman, nag-respond naman ang mga players.”

Adamson blew the game open in the second quarter, as they outscored Flying V 20-12 to head into the halftime break with a 43-27 lead.

The Soaring Falcons steadily piled on the pressure, with the re-entry of Ahanmisi and Robbie Manalang midway through the final quarter paving the way for Adamson to seize a 24-point lead, 85-61.

The lead ballooned to 30 points, 94-64, off a lay-up by Leo Frias before Micky Cabahug nailed a triple to peg the final score.

Gab Banal led Flying V with 12 points, and Eric Salamat added 11 markers. However, the Thunder desperately missed the presence of Jeron Teng and Thomas Torres, who were attending to academic responsibilities.

Without their main men, Flying V converted only 36% of their shots while allowing Adamson to connect on 56% of their attempts.

The scores:

ADAMSON 94 – Camacho 16, Ahanmisi 14, Zaldivar 12, Manganti 11, Mustre 9, Manalang 8, Paranada 6, Frias 5, Ochea 4, Pingoy 4, Vizcarra 3, Espeleta 2, Noble 0, Chua 0

FLYING V 67 – Banal 12, Salamat 11, Tampus 10, Cabahug 7, Gamboa 6, Webb 6, Ongteco 6, Mendoza 4, Austria 3, Canada 2, Sinco 0

Quarter scores: 23-15, 43-27, 69-51, 94-67

(For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.)

All Credit Goes There : Source link