Big win for PH » Manila Bulletin Entertainment


The Philippines scored high at the International Film Festival Manhattan 2017 held recently. Noted indie actor Leon Miguel won the Best Actor trophy (short film category) for his engaging role in “Galit Na Aso.” Directed by Ankit Rawat, it got the Most Popular Film Award, too.

IFFM 2017 Winners: Fritz Silorio, Best Director; and Leon Miguel, Best Actor

Fritz Silorio won as Best Director for his movie “Fall Guy,” another short film.

 Leon Miguel, who hails from Masbate, and who first captured the eye of the moviegoing public with his villain role in “Graceland” shown at the TriBeca Film Festival in 2012, has won several Best Actor trophies from various international film festivals in recent years, among them “Redlights” at the IFFM 2016.

 Other wins for the Philippines at the IFFM 2017 include: Christopher de Leon, Lifetime Achievement Award in Acting, Best Ensemble Acting Award for the movie “Across The Crescent Moon” – Christopher de Leon, Matteo Guidicelli, Dina Bonnevie, Sandy Andolong, Gabby Concepcion and Joem Bascon; Independent Achievement Award, “Sikreto Sa Dilim” produced by Ramon Roxas and Mike Magat; and Best Director for “The Guerilla Is A Poet,” directed by Sari Dalena and Kiri Dalena.

Going back to Leon Miguel, he is also in the cast of “EJK,” an official movie selection for Best Picture at the recent Los Angeles-Philippines International Film Festival (LAPIFF). Directed by Rolando Sanchez and also starring Mon Confiado, Felix Roco and DJ Durano, “EJK” is based on events about alleged extra judicial killings in the Philippines.

‘No’ to more beauty tax

Flawless has publicly expressed its displeasure on Instagram about the current issue on taxes being proposed on all luxury beauty treatments and products.

 While clientele of cosmetic clinics span a wide bracket of income-earners, Flawless believes the decision to be beautiful is a right and a privilege that shouldn’t be oppressed and its consumers should not be discriminated.

 The bill is being pushed by Sen. Sonny Angara and is contained in Section 30 of Senate Bill 1592. It comes in the wake of the news that luxury cars will have additional taxes too, and its implementation starts next year.

Tidbits: Happy b-day greetings today, Nov. 11, go to former Vice Pres. Jejomar Binay, AiAi de las Alas, Rowell Santiago, Willie Schneider, Rene-An Gomez, Alice Lopez Lim, Atty. Abet and Vaness Bernales, Marilú Caballes, Jojo Baltazar, Aida Ver, Nini Go, Director Al Quinn, Steven Fermo, Bing Carrion, Emelio Uy and Mon David…Nov. 12: Gov. Imee Marcos, Malou Choa-Fagar, Atty. Teresita Sison, Diego Cagahastian, Rene Tiongco, Anna Marie Gutierrez, Christina Hermoso Zaldarriaga, Barbie Bermundo, Bobby Enciso, Vangie Go, Dr. Wendell Lozano, Mike Aguirre, Reynaldo Campos, Rico Laxa, Ron Morales and Sandara Park…

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

All Credit Goes There : Source link