Alyssa, Mika banner SEA Games volleyball team


Mika Reyes and Alyssa Valdez will team up for the upcoming Southeast Asian Games. ABS-CBN Sports

MANILA, Philippines – Collegiate rivals Alyssa Valdez and Mika Reyes will team up for flag and country as both were selected as part of the 12-woman national team that will compete in the Southeast Asian Games and Asian Women’s Volleyball Championship.

In a tweet posted by PSL Press Corps president Marc Anthony Reyes, it was revealed that the former Ateneo de Manila University and De La Salle University standouts will banner the squads that will represent the country in the pair of tournaments in August.

Joining Valdez and Reyes in the national team are:

· Denden Lazaro
· Kim Fajardo
· Rhea Dimaculangan
· Maika Ortiz
· Gen Casugod
· Aby Marano
· Jovelyn Gonzaga
· Aiza Maizo-Pontillas
· Jaja Santiago
· Ces Molina

Rachel Anne Daquis and Dawn Macandili were included as reserves.

Meanwhile, the men’s volleyball team will be headed by skipper Johnvic de Guzman and former University of Santo Tomas superstar Mark Alfafara.

The rest of the team is as follows:

· Relan Taneo
· Geuel Asia
· RanRan Abdilla
· Alden Cabaron
· Reyson Fuentes
· Bonjomar Castel
· Herschel Ramos
· Jack Kalingking
· Bryan Bagunas
· Greg Dolor

John Carascal and Peter Quiel were included as reserves of the men’s team.

Francis Vicente is calling the shots for the women’s team, while Sammy Acaylar is the head coach of the men’s team.

The national teams are set to participate in training camps in Japan and Korea to help them prepare for their stints in the Southeast Asian Games.

(For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.)

All Credit Goes There : Source link