A quick one from Coldplay » Manila Bulletin Entertainment



Pegged as a companion piece to 2015’s “A Head Of Full Of Dreams,” Coldplay’s newly released “Kaleidoscope EP” is the 13th Extended Play album from the British band. It’s 25 minutes-worth of material – new songs and a live performance of a previously released tune – set to whet fans’ appetites for more from the band.


Named after one of the interlude tracks from their last album, “Kaleidoscope” opens with the slow-burning “All I Can Think About Is You.” Written by bassist Guy Berryman, guitarist Jonny Buckland, drummer Will Champion and singer-pianist-acoustic guitarist Chris Martin, the track is a pulsing, slow-to-mid tempo number that eventually rises and finishes with frenetic Brit Rock progressions.

Following suit is the dreamy “Miracles (Someone Special)” featuring American rapper Big Sean. It’s a caboodle of electro, pop, dance and rap that could’ve been part of the band’s previous album.

Coldplay’s last two CDs saw the band delving into pop and their fair share of collaboration with Rihanna, Beyoncé, Tove Lo, and Avicii. Reminding us all again of Coldplay’s predilection for picking out pop acts for collabs is a live take of the Coldplay-Chainsmokers jam “Something Just Like This” performed live in Tokyo, Japan.

Those pining for vintage Coldplay sounds will find “All I Can Think About Is You” satisfactory. It’s the slow-rising, intensity-building kind of song the band has mastered since their “Parachutes” days. “ALIENS” likewise has that classic Coldplay thump a’la “A Rush Of Blood To The Head.”

Wrapping up the set is the aptly titled “Hypnotised,” a glittery, piano-decked number that harkens to the alt-rock balladry and sonics that put Coldplay on the map years ago.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

All Credit Goes There : Source link